A Court of Thorns and Roses

Standard

 By: Sarah J. Maas

court of thorns and rosesIn the South, humans reside shut out from paradise- hunting, haggling, and godless. While to the north lies Prythian, walled within secrecy, a whole new world, mystical and mysterious- where powerful elven beings rule faerie creatures of all shapes and sizes. Humans despise faeries of all kinds and harbor a deep fear, the result of a civil war that freed humans from slavery.

            Once of nobility, Feyre’s family struggles to cope with life after being stripped of it’s titles and fortune. Forced with shouldering the burden of hunting and keeping her family alive, she is headstrong and hates Faeries like no one else. One day while out hunting Feyre comes across an unnaturally sized wolf, believing it to be a faerie in disguise, she slays it only to be tracked down and face punishment for the deed. Feyre’s life will never be the same.

            Leaving you on that mysterious note, I say when I first picked up this book I was not too impressed with its description. However, something compelled me to check it out and keep on reading. By doing so, I was rewarded greatly with twists I didn’t expect and an intriguing story hidden beyond what the description mentioned. I highly recommend this book believing you too will be pleasantly surprised; I anxiously await a possible sequel in this new series that could hold its own against Hunger Games and Twilight.

About Shianne

My name is Shianne and I am an assistant librarian. I love my job and sharing what I've read with others. I don't have a particular favorite genre, I have found lately that I like books about just plain life like Phillip Gulley's Harmony Series, and some romance and fantasy, as well as non-fiction that I come across like little gems.

Leave a comment